Local echo off after password request, never back on?

Nov 5, 2009 at 1:20 AM

Hello. I'm rather new to SSH, so I may be missing something obvious, but the local echo (when connecting from Putty) stops for password entry, which is normal, but then it never turns back on - so real type key press feedback stops at that point. Is that expected? Is there a way around it, so I can see what I'm typing at the remote terminal? I tried forcing local echo on in putty, but this causes double characters to display when entering username, due to server side echo I presume combining with putty's simulated echo. Thanks for your time. Love your library. I've made a few small mods, to allow for logging into a domain (not just local machine) and for allowing the server to listen to Any instead of a specific IP (maybe this is possible with a specific IP string? I couldn't figure it out if so...). Let me know if you want them and I will submit.

Nov 5, 2009 at 3:47 AM

Nevermind the binding to Any thing - I guess using 0.0.0.0 is what triggers that.

Coordinator
Nov 5, 2009 at 12:21 PM

Hi,

The lack of a local echo is just due to the implementation of the BaseProcessConsole and cmd.exe. I assume when you run cmd.exe as a window it performs a local echo of sorts but when using it through NSsh even though we send each character as we get it to the cmd.exe process it only echos them back in one hit after a command is executed. It might be possible to echo characters manually and then chop them out of the response from cmd.exe but I haven't looked into it.

If you could submit any improvements via a patch in the "Source Code" tab it would be great! And yes you are correct 0.0.0.0 is the string to listen on all interfaces.

Cheers,

Luke

Nov 5, 2009 at 2:14 PM